Skip to content

The Skeptic Relents: My New Year’s Challenge

January 4, 2010

This year might just be a year to set goals—again. I vowed that I would not make any New Year’s Resolutions this year.  Primarily, this is due to the fact that I never kept them. Normally, I would excitedly jot them down on a sheet of paper, and almost magically it gets stashed into the bottom of a desk drawer or cabinet in my office space. With such low odds of success, I said “what heck, I am not going to set any resolutions this year. I resolved NOT to make any resolutions”.  However… four days into the New Year, I was unsuccessful in keeping that resolution!  After an in depth conversation and much deliberation with my sister, I decided to take on a challenge—a weight loss challenge.

There, I did it again, but this year has to be different. We never seriously share our goals.  However, this year we changed our “I want to….” To “I am going to…”. My mom, sister, and I are going to truly hold each other accountable for all of our goals, especially the ones we share.

Perhaps, we took it too far, but we created contracts!  For our weight loss challenge, my personal goal is to lose 25 lbs in the next 12 weeks. This gives me until March 17th to get in shape.  Part of the challenge is a penalty for each pound that we do not lose. Each of us will pay the other two participants $10 per pound that we still care. Not losing all of the weight is not acceptable! Not an option!

Our competitive side came out today as we ended our phone calls with “You are going down!” and “Your are about to be broke!” Indeed, I will be a richer man by March 17th.

Other than that, I have set some great goals for this year and the last one is to complete all of the other goals that precede it.  Wish me luck!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

